Boards, Commissions and Committees

Council Appointed Boards, Commissions and Committees

The Agricultural Service Board (ASB) has five members and deals with agricultural matters, including enforcement of provincial acts such as the Weed Control Act. They develop programs to protect and improve the agricultural productivity of the area.

The Municipal Planning Commission (MPC) consists of six members. They meet monthly to decide on subdivision and development applications, based on the county Land Use Bylaw and provincial planning regulations. Their goal is to approve development proposals that do not unduly interfere with the amenities of the neighbourhood or materially interfere with or affect the use, enjoyment or value of the neighbouring properties.

The five member Subdivision and Development Appeal Board (SDAB) hears appeals on development permits or subdivisions approved by the MPC.  An Assessment Review Board (ARB) hears appeals on property assessment issues.

All nine members of council sit on the Recreation Board. This board provides annual operating and capital grants to community organizations that are recognized as operating recreational facilities eligible for funding within Cypress County.

Members appointed to the various boards, commissions and committees that the county is involved with can be viewed here. Anyone interested in an appointment may use the application form on our Downloads and Documents page.


Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework (ICF) Steering Committee

As per the updated Municipal Government Act (MGA), municipalities sharing a common boundary must now create an Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework with each other by April 2020.
To see updates from the ICF Steering Committee please see the below folder.