Due Date for Taxes
Cypress County recognizes the financial and emotional hardship the COVID-19 crisis may be causing County residents. All property owners and business owners will have until November 30, 2020 to pay their taxes without penalty. Those who can pay earlier are still encouraged to do so as your tax dollars are what provides services such as Utilities, Emergency Services and key infrastructure maintenance that are utilized by residents through out the year.  

For the 2020 Tax year only, all payments will be considered paid on or before November 30, 2020 in accordance with Bylaw 2020/13- Amends Tax Penalties.    This Bylaw expires at the end of 2020 and in 2021 Bylaw 2020/02 Tax Penalties comes in to effect.  

Property Tax Rates
Council sets the tax rates based on the amount of property tax revenue that is required to pay for the services provided by the County. Individual property assessment and taxes usually change each year due to the requirements of the annual budget, and year-to-year changes in property value.
Cypress County is required to collect additional education, seniors' lodging and Designated Industrial Property (DIP) tax on behalf of the Province of Alberta.  Cypress County tax rates are set annually by Council.  
County property taxes are calculated based on the application of the following formula of:  Assessed Value x Residential Tax Rate

 Paying Your Property Taxes

There are several options for paying your County taxes:
The Tax Installment Payment Plan (TIPP) provides property owners with the opportunity to make 12 consecutive monthly property tax payments instead of a single, annual payment. Payments can only be made by automatic withdrawals from a bank account. Please send TIPP enrollment forms to  

Other Ways to Pay
You can make payments in person at the County office in Dunmore between 8:30 A.M. and 4:30 P.M., Monday through Friday.

  • Please bring your tax notice
  • Interac payments are accepted. Check with your financial institution to ensure your transaction limit is sufficient.
  • Through online banking with your tax roll number
  • Pay online with OptionPay (only this method can be used for credit card payments)
  • There is an after-hours mail slot available, but only for payments by cheque
  • By Mail (mail must be post marked by June 30, please note that not all mail submitted to Canada Post is not post marked on the day it is dropped on the slot. 
  • Financial Institutions
  • Through your mortgage company
  • In person at the County Office
  • Please Note: Failure to receive your tax notice is not sufficient reason for late payment.   
Property Tax Address Change

If Canada Post has recently changed your mailing address, or you have moved, remember to update your tax account to ensure continued delivery of your assessment and tax notices. There are two options to update your property tax address with Cypress County:
  • Through the online form
  • In person at the office
You should also update your address with the Land Titles Office to ensure your correct mailing address is recorded on the Certificate of Title. Visit Service Alberta for more information.

Tax Certificates

A tax certificate provides the roll number, legal description, levy, current balance, utility account balance and monthly tax payment plan amount. 
There is a $25.00 fee, which can be paid by cheque, Visa, or MasterCard (faxed or emailed copies of cheques are not accepted). Please send requests to  . Please note there is a three to four business day turnaround to process tax certificates. A copy of the certificate will be faxed and the original sent by mail.