Election 2017

The next Municipal Election will be held on Monday, October 16, 2017

Nomination Day is Monday, September 18, 2017

In Cypress County, each of the nine electoral wards elects one Councillor.  To be nominated as a candidate in an electoral ward, the person must be a resident of the ward for six consecutive months prior to nomination day.

The term of office os four years.  There is no limit on the number of times a Councillor can be re-elected.  

If you are interested in running for Municipal Office, you must complete and file the Application for Registration Notice of Intent to Become a Candidate for Municipal Office with Returning Officer, Anna Mast.  This is to be done before accepting any campaign contributions.  This is a new requirement of Province since the last election.  

Nomination Package (all forms must be completed)

All Municipal applications that are filed will be updated to the attached listing.  

What is the population of each ward?
Population by Ward

What are the total taxes collected from each ward?
Taxes received by Ward